|
Users Panel

- Differences between normal and privileged
users
- Privileged users always have priority when downloading files. Only an administrator can
create privileged users. Normal users can create themselves if option 'Allow creation of
normal users' in Settings panel is turned on. If option 'Normal users can log' in Settings
panel is turned off normal users won't be able to login.
- Using ranges
- If there are thousands of users it would be slow to load all of them and put in one
list. For scalability reasons users are divided in ranges of 500. Double click on range
and only those users will be loaded and listed.
You can show normal only, privileged only, or all users. Users are filtered from current
range.
- Adding new user
- Enter username for new user, his password and retype it for confirmation. Choose if he
is to be normal or privileged user and then press 'Add new user' button.
-
- Changing user password
- After selecting a user, press 'Change Password' button. Enter new password and retype
it.
-
- Deleting a user
- After selecting a user press 'Delete' button.
- How to import or enter large number of
users
- You may edit users by editing files normal.users and privileged.users.
Every line has format username=password. However, it's not recommended to change
these files while DM Server is running. Some actions may rewrite those files and discard
your editing. You must restart DM server anyway so that changes could take an effect.
It is only recommended if you're entering a larger number of users. In that case, shutdown
server, edit files, then restart server.
|