|
Settings Panel
Settings are grouped in five sections: SERVER, RETRY, USERS, LOGGING, and FTP. All these
settings can be changed manually by editing file settings.ini. If you change
settings with Administrator panel, they'll take effect as soon as they are saved on the
server by 'SAVE' button. If you change them manually you'll need to restart DM server.

- SERVER section
Delete file after x days
- Downloaded files will be kept for x days. They'll be deleted from server after that
period.
- Internet timeout x s
- Timeout for downloading from Internet (in seconds). If too high, we'll waste time with
site that is currently slow. If too low, temporary stalls will break download.
- CGI timeout x s
- How much time (in seconds) a CGI has for connecting to server. After timeout, temporary
key will be removed for security reasons and CGI won't be able to talk to the server.
- Save every x min
- Save current state every x minutes. If server isn't shut down through the shutdown
option in Administrator applet but 'dies' in any other way, all changes after last save
will be lost.
-
- RETRY section
Initial delay x s
- Initial delay (in seconds) between interrupt of download and retry. If x=300 then at
least 5min must pass before download is retried. Pauses are used for other downloads that
are waiting.
- Maximum delay x s
- Limit for increasing pauses (in seconds).
- Delay increment x s
- When download fails again, this value (in seconds) is added to 'Initial delay' in order
to make longer pauses between retries.
- Stop after x retries
- If file isn't downloaded within x retries, we give up.
-
- USERS section
Client refresh every x s
- Time (in seconds) client applet waits before it asks the server to update data. Default
is 2s but if you have modem users you can increase it to 5s to lower the used bandwidth.
Larger increases aren't recommended.
- Client timeout x s
- Timeout for client (in seconds). Client can be blocked for some time (e.g. swaps) so
this value shouldn't be lower than 3*ClientRefresh. It shouldn't be too high either
because same client can't have two connections. If first one is broken but server still
doesn't know it client won't be able to login .
- Normal users can login
- You can forbid or allow normal users to login.
- Allow creation of normal users
- If this setting is checked, then anyone can create new normal user by selecting 'Add new
user' in Client applet. It frees the administrator from adding new users but also allows
anyone to create a new user.
-
- LOGGING
section
Error log
- Check this box if you want errors to be logged. You can also change name of log file.
Errors are invalid parameters, unsuccessful admin logins, etc.
- Activity log
- Check this box if you want activity to be logged. You can also change name of log file.
Activities are starting server, shutdown, loading data, etc.
-
- FTP section
Anonymous password
- Password that will be sent to anonymous FTP requests. It should be an e-mail address
because some FTP servers refuse anonymous logins if password isn't e-mail.
- Use PASV Mode
- This setting should help with FTP through firewalls. If you encounter a problem with
your firewall while trying FTP, try checking this setting.
-
- Load and Save
- When you select this panel, server is contacted and settings are loaded. You can change
the values as you like. When you're satisfied, you should press 'SAVE' button to update
settings on the server. If you want to revert to the settings that are stored on the
server, you should use 'LOAD' button.
|